How to Keep Your White Kicks White

Don’t kick your dirty white kicks to the curb just yet.  From tennis shoes to slip-ons, the white sneaker trend is going nowhere fast and The Eden Edition has the down-low on how to keep your stark white footwear crispy all year round.

I eagerly unpacked my brand new pair of Backyard Footwear Tivoli white canvas sneakers but with that extraordinary excitement came rapid heart palpitations and a surprising shortness of breath indicating my massive fear of sporting my new kicks on the streets of New York City!  Everyday in Manhattan feels like that iconic scene from the opening credits of Sex & the City when our beloved Carrie Bradshaw gets splashed by a large, dirty puddle, courtesy of our lovely city buses. It’s nearly impossible to remain spotless all day which is why I carry a tide pen with me everywhere I go, and wish I could somehow waterproof and stain-proof my entire body from head to toe.  Okay, perhaps I’m not the most careful person in the world, but I’m a busy woman with places to go and people to meet!
Screen Shot 2016-05-22 at 11.03.47 AM
Tivoli White with Navy + Red Stripes
The shoe of the Seventies is the sneaker of today.
–  
So, if you’re like me and are incapable of keeping your whites white, then definitely utilize the tips below.  Trust me, if I can do it, anyone can!
PREVENTION
The first step in keeping those white kicks spotless is prevention.  Protect your new shoes before they hit the streets.
1. I recommend Scotchguard to protect the fabric.  And remember, once is not enough.  Repeat this crucial step every few weeks to keep your footwear protected from the dangerous variables of the great outdoors.
2. Your shoes are like your skin.  To prevent damage, you must keep them away from the sun.  Believe it or not your shoes can get a tan just like you (not me, I strictly burn).  To prevent any kind of sun damage, it’s best to store you white shoes inside.
KEEP UP
As much as you try to prevent a stain on your white athletic shoe, accidents still happen.  We all step in dirt or drop a piece of food near our feet on occasion.  That is when the following tips will come in handy.
1. Do you believe in Magic?
He might be bald and muscular, but Mr. Clean is more than just eye-candy.  Who knew?  Use Mr. Clean Wipes, Magic Erasers, or a washrag dipped in vinegar to erase unappealing spots and stains
2. Toothbrush = Best Friend
I have multiple toothbrushes, but only one is used on my teeth.  For diamonds, I use a soft-bristled toothbrush and Windex at the recommendation of my jeweler (works like a charm)!  For my tennis shoes, I dip a separate toothbrush in warm water and gentle soap and I lightly scrub those hard-to-reach areas.  In the case of more severe stains, use a very gentle shampoo.  I promise you’ll be pleasantly surprised!
3. Living Life on a Shoestring
The washing machine might be the world’s greatest invention, but when it comes to your white shoelaces, you’ll want to avoid that convenient mechanism like the plague.  Wash those shoelaces the old-fashioned way, by hand.  Let them air dry and they’ll be as good as new.
It might seem overwhelming, but ultimately, you can’t go wrong utilizing the tips above!  Did we miss anything?  Would love to hear how you keep your shoes clean!
xoxo,
Screen Shot 2015-09-09 at 3.40.58 PM
Leave a Reply

