Holy Yeezus Christ

If Kanye West is looking for attention, whether positive or negative, while in pursuit of promoting his upcoming album, he has certainly succeeded.  Success is a term Kanye is familiar with.  In fact, I’m sure if you asked him, the pure meaning of the word would be defined simply by two words: his first name and his last name.

kanye-west-3-27-08-2

In a recent interview with the New York Times, Yeezy or Yeezus (ugh), was intent on sharing with the world just how important his existence is to humanity, and with sheer confidence compares himself to the greats of industries across a broad spectrum.

First, the self-proclaimed Michael Jordan of music stated:

“I am so credible and so influential and so relevant that I will change things.”

While some of us think our talent, compassion, or business savvy is of an extraordinary caliber, it takes an incredibly enormous ego to tell the world just how important, necessary and relevant you think you are.

Kanye did not stop there.  He continued to compare himself to the late Steve Jobs.  He said:

“I think what Kanye West is going to mean is something similar to what Steve Jobs means. I am undoubtedly, you know, Steve of Internet, downtown, fashion, culture. Period. By a long jump. I honestly feel that because Steve has passed, you know, it’s like when Biggie passed and Jay-Z was allowed to become Jay-Z. “

Where to start on this one.  Listen, I am not so jaded to admit that Kanye is a talented musician and a skilled poet, but to compare his potential to the pure genius that was Steve Jobs is ridiculous.  If he wants to gain even half of the respect or status that Jobs continues to have postmortem, he would need to inspire a generation with his innovation and gain the respect of all ages with his generosity and brilliance.  In Kanye’s case, his fans are loyal and his music speaks for itself.  However, I believe the general public would clASSify him as a self-indulgent egotist.

On a side-note, Madonna didn’t have to die for Britney Spears to become a pop princess.  Just saying.

Finally, Kanye discusses his future impact on the world:

“I will be the leader of a company that ends up being worth billions of dollars, because I got the answers. I understand culture. I am the nucleus… I think that’s a responsibility that I have, to push possibilities, to show people: ‘This is the level that things could be at.’ So when you get something that has the name Kanye West on it, it’s supposed to be pushing the furthest possibilities.”

I have nothing to say on this one.  The words are too plentiful and contain too many expletives.

Overall, do I think Kanye West will be worth billions?  Probably.  His ambition is extraordinary.  The problem I think he might have is earning the respect of the masses.  Ultimately, what we can look forward to is new music from the pompous rapper, and possibly the advent of the Church of Yeezus Christ.  Don’t worry, I’m sure he’ll make himself the Pope… but better, obviously.

Leave a Reply

